CCP Retreat Weekend

This weekend was a weekend that I have been anticipating for a long time: CCP retreat weekend. It has been truly an amazing time together of fellowship with my team and learning more about our vision for the summer.

Our theme for the summer is… GLORY! We want to see God glorified in London. We’ll be centering our summer around Romans 8:18, “for I consider the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory to be revealed to us.” How amazing is that??? We went over this verse in our time together this morning and came up with a few observations and principles that I thought were pretty incredible.

  • It’s not even worth comparing the glory that will be revealed with the suffering. The glory wins every. single. time. Trying to compare is wasting our time.
  • The glory WILL be revealed. We know the outcome of the game because the game has already been won. Christ has risen, we have been redeemed. God promises us the victory!
  • Christ suffered and was glorified in the resurrection. If the Son of God suffered in the world, how much more are we going to? And as sons and daughters of God through the redemption through Jesus’ blood, we, too, will be glorified!

One other cool thing we got to do was skype a man who is currently a youth worker over in London. He is friends with the missions coordinator through the IMB (International Missions Board) person that we will be working with. He shared some interesting perspective about our time in London.  My favorite thing we talked about was living your life as a mission. I think it’s something that we toss around a lot, but it’s so hard to actually do. Especially as a university student I find it hard to integrate ministry time with class time, study time, and work time; however, missions isn’t a light switch. You don’t turn your missions on and off. It’s like the sun, always burning and always present, even in normal, every day conversations. I think this is something that I really want to work on before I go to London as well as while over there.

This weekend has really made this summer seem real. It’s not that far off, friends! We officially leave the United States on May the 16th!! I can’t even begin to describe all the emotions swirling through my head at the moment. It’s been amazing to see how God has given me such a strong desire to see these people come to know the love of Jesus Christ. I know that the trip will be really hard at times. People may argue against our beliefs, criticize us, not care, or even say hurtful things; however, as it says in our verse (above), these sufferings are NOTHING!! We literally have nothing to lose and everything to gain.

I have really been encouraged by the notes I get from people in regards to support raising. While on retreat this weekend we were also told that if we don’t have $4,000 by May 1st that we can’t go to London. I currently only have $2,000, so if any of you feel led to give for the first time or give more I would be extremely appreciative (as always). We are told in the Bible that where ever our treasure lies, there our heart will be also. I’m really praying that God will raise up laborers to become a part of my team. We all have a role to play in God’s mission, whether it be going, supporting prayerfully, or supporting financially. I really hope you will consider joining my team in helping fulfill the Great Commission and taking the Gospel to the NATIONS!!!!!

https://public.serviceu.com/GivingForm/11893/?OrgKey=d6b6fb29-cc34-4ee3-8ce8-d9168ca7116a&RN=2021056326&SGUID=9198495A-0CEE-4061-BABE-96B0703C6FAB&RN=221819386

Much love,

Bethany

Leave a Reply

